(0)

Shopping Cart

0 items
Your cart is currently empty.

Healing Words

Healing Words
Loading the player...

Description

In 1998, the Canadian Government acknowledged its responsibility for the ill treatment suffered by children in Autochthon residential schools and consecrated 350 million dollars to finance community healing efforts.

Healing Words, a series of 6 documentaries, shares with us the cruelty experienced by Quebec Aboriginal peoples and the social, identity and cultural consequences of this treatment over three generations, as well as, and especially, the projects undertaken to effect a lasting recovery.

French version : Parole de Guérison

Summary of the 6 episodes

Episode 1: History of the Aboriginal Healing Foundation
This episode relates the historical facts of acculturation by means of residential schools and then portrays the Aboriginal Healing Foundation as a beneficiary of Government funding and initiator of groups formed in view of permitting Aboriginal peoples to revive their culture. It then introduces us to several of the Foundation’s projects that will be the subject of following episodes.

Episode 2: The Anishnabegs and Residential Schools

The Algonquins-Anisnabegs of Abitibi bear witness to the forced acculturation of the Autochthon nomads by the white man. Victims of yesterday who are leaders in their community today, have built projects with regard to the family, one of the cultural pillars most affected by the residential school drama. The film focuses on the healing project having to do with learning how to become good parents and, in addition, reveals the cultural shock resulting from the confrontation of differing mentalities.

Episode 3: Philomène and Her Children

One family was torn apart by the separation of the mother from her ten children. The loss of traditions and the weakening of family ties are the plight of this family and of many other Canadian Autochthon families. Some children must follow a therapy in order to find meaning in their lives, whereas the mother still hopes to pass on to them her people’s traditional heritage.

Episode 4: The Middle Lake

A group of Innu elders of Natashquan were separated from their children when they were sent to residential schools. The residential school “survivors” tell us about the severance from their families. Today, through their healing project, the elders teach their grandchildren how to live in the woods, thus helping them to become familiar with their ancestral way of life.

Episode 5: The Sharing Circle

One of the greatest Aboriginal traditions, the Circle of Sharing, takes us to the core of spoken evidence when participants in a ceremony relate both their joys and sorrows of living in White society. A couple of residential school victims learn to love each other after several therapies. Today, they in turn offer traditional therapies. The film’s scope reaches also to those who found advantages in residential schooling.

Episode 6 : The Soul of the Drum

The most senior member of La Romaine, a traditional drum player, tells us of the blessed past when even missionaries spoke Innu. Because of his efforts, and with the support of many, we discover that the real issue is one of education, which was imposed in French in their own village. The last generation of surviving, unilingual Innus pass on to us, by means of the drum, a great mythology resonating in our ears even today.

Press release

Purchase

Choose the desired format and usage.

Combination of product variants is not available
Loading Updating cart...

Price 99.00$

Informations

TypeDocumentaire
Length6 x 48 minutes
Year2004
VersionsFrench, English
DirectorDenis Boivin
ProducerDenis Boivin, Luc Lainé
ScreenplayDenis Boivin
EditorJoël Ferland
D.PJean-François Denis, Jean-François Gros-Louis, Denis Boivin
SoundJean-François Linteau
MusicPierre Jalbert
ProductionK8e K8e inc.
DistributionNetima

Financial contributions

Tax Credit Programs, APTN, Canadian Television Fund, Canadian Independent Film and Video Fund, Les Productions de film Dionysos, SonoVidéo.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook

Parole de guérison

Parole de guérison
Chargement du lecteur...

Description

(6 x 48 min) En 1998, le Gouvernement canadien, reconnaissant sa responsabilité pour les sévices vécus par les enfants dans les pensionnats pour Autochtones, consacrait 350 millions de dollars pour financer des actions communautaires de guérison.

Parole de guérison, une série de 6 documentaires, nous fait partager les souffrances vécues par les Aborigènes du Québec, les séquelles sociales, identitaires et culturelles qu’elles ont provoqué sur trois générations, mais aussi et surtout les projets mis sur pied pour en favoriser le rétablissement durable.

Version anglaise : Healing Words

Résumés des 6 épisodes

Épisode 1 : L'historique de la Fondation Autochtone de Guérison

Cet épisode relate les faits historiques de l’acculturation par les pensionnats, puis dresse le portrait de la Fondation Autochtone de Guérison, bénéficiaire des fonds du Gouvernement et initiatrice de groupes formés dans le but de permettre aux aborigènes de réapprivoiser leurs cultures. Il nous offre enfin une introduction des différents projets de la Fondation, abordés dans les épisodes suivants.

Épisode 2 : Les Anishnabegs et les pensionnats

Les Algonquins-Anisnabegs de l'Abitibi témoignent de l'acculturation forcée des autochtones nomades par les Blancs. Des victimes d’hier, devenues maintenant leaders dans leur communauté, sont à la source de projets touchant la famille, l’un des piliers culturels dégradés par le drame des pensionnats. Le film insiste sur le projet de guérison visant l’appropriation des habiletés parentales et révèle aussi le choc des mentalités entre ces deux cultures.

Épisode 3 : Philomène et ses enfants

Une famille a été décimée par la séparation de la mère et de ses dix enfants. La perte de traditions et la défaillance des liens familiaux sont le drame de cette famille, exemple d’un bon nombre de familles autochtones du Canada. Certains enfants suivent une thérapie afin de retrouver un équilibre pour leur vie, tandis que leur mère ne désespère pas non plus de transmettre l’héritage traditionnel de son peuple.

Épisode 4 : Le lac du milieu

Un groupe d’aînés innus de Natashquan s’étaient vus séparés de leurs enfants envoyés aux pensionnats. La génération des enfants, « survivants » des pensionnats, témoigne également de la coupure vécue avec leur famille. Aujourd’hui, par leur projet de guérison, les aînés enseignent la vie en forêt à leurs petits-enfants, leur permettant ainsi de reprendre contact avec leur mode de vie ancestral.

Épisode 5 : Le cercle de partage

L’une des plus grandes traditions aborigènes, le cercle de partage, nous plonge au cœur du dévoilement de la parole lorsque, dans une cérémonie, les intervenants livrent leurs joies et leurs haines de vivre dans la société des Blancs. Un couple de victimes du pensionnat a appris à s’aimer suite à plusieurs thérapies. Aujourd’hui ils offrent à leur tour des thérapies traditionnelles. Le cercle du film s’étend aussi à ceux qui ont trouvé des bienfaits aux pensionnats.

Épisode 6 : L'âme du tambour

Le doyen de La Romaine, joueur de tambour traditionnel, évoque le temps béni où même les missionnaires parlaient innu. Par son combat et avec tous ceux qui l’appuient, on découvre que la vraie bataille est celle de l'éducation, subie en français dans leur propre village. La dernière génération des survivants unilingues innus nous transmet, par le tambour, la grande mythologie qui résonne encore aujourd’hui.

Dossier de presse

Achat

Choisir le format et l’usage désirés.

Combination of product variants is not available
Loading Mise à jour du panier...

Prix 99.00$

Informations

GenreDocumentaire
Durée6 x 48 minutes
Année2004
VersionsFrançais; anglais
RéalisationDenis Boivin
ProductionDenis Boivin, Luc Lainé
ScénarioDenis Boivin
MontageJoël Ferland
D.PJean-François Denis, Jean-François Gros-Louis, Denis Boivin
SonJean-François Linteau
MusiquePierre Jalbert
ProductionK8e K8e inc.
DistributionNetima

Participations financières

Programmes de crédits d'impôt, APTN, Fonds Canadien de Télévision, Fond Canadien du Film et de la Vidéo Indépendants, Les Productions de film Dionysos, SonoVidéo.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook