(0)

Shopping Cart

0 items
Your cart is currently empty.

Aness

Aness
Loading the player...

Description

Synopsis

In the northern reaches of central Quebec, on the border between the tundra and the taïga, was born Ernest Dominique. Raised in an Innu community, the boy will grow up to be an internationally renowned painter. His grandmother could not pronounce the letter "R", thus nicknaming him : Aness. During his career, Ernest decides to sign his paintings with the name given to him as a child. From the capitals of the world, we follow his journey back to his homeland. This journey helps us to understand his roots and his unique approach to his art, his family and his Innu identity.

Director's biofilmography

Born in Quebec City (Province of Quebec, Canada).
After university studies in communication and cinema, Denis Boivin has signed in 1977 a first documentary, L'Age dort, that became the most broadcasted documentary in the Province of Quebec between 1979 and 1985. Since that moment, he has produced and directed many documentaries as a genuine independant filmmaker. Among them: the famous and very sensitive Le Pardon (Forgiveness) (Henri-Langlois Press Award 1992, Best Documentary Festival Tours 1992, Can-Pro Award 1993, 2 Gemini mentions) andLe Pèlerin (The Pilgrim), a biography of John-Paul II by his contemporaries' eyes (Gen. Jaruzelski, Lech Walesa, friends, students.) He has made many productions for Children: short films, documentaries - for example The Dance of the Children - and TV programs.
Since a few years, Boivin is turning to fiction films, producing two international festival award winner shorts. Born near the Huron Village of Wendake, just outside Québec City, he has returned to his Native roots for inspiration as he offers an original look at an unknown aspect of life among Canada's First Nations in his first feature film:Attache ta tuque! (Hold on to your Hat!) Since that time, he has directed Healing Words,6 documentaries shot in First Nations Villages and five TV program series for Children :Mikuan. His new documentary, Aness, follow international renowned aboriginal painter Ernest Dominique (Aness), in his journey back to his homeland, re-reading his life, art and nation.

Award, mentions & festivals

  • Festival international du Film sur l’Art 2009 (Montréal)
  • Huron-Wendat Museum (Wendake, Québec)

Purchase

Choose the desired format and usage.

Combination of product variants is not available
Loading Updating cart...

Price 20.00$

Informations

TypeDocumentary
Length52 minutes
Year2008
VersionsFrench, French with English subtitles, Innu
DirectorDenis Boivin
NarrationSerge Bouchard
ProducerDenis Boivin, Luc Lainé
ScreenplayDenis Boivin
EditorJoël Ferland
D.PHans David Campbell
SoundNormand Lapierre, Jean Langevin
MusicFlorent Vollant
ProductionK8e K8e inc.
DistributionNetima

Financial contributions

Sodec, Canadian Television Fund, Canadian Film and Video Fund, Tax Credit Programs (Quebec and Canada), APTN TV, ARTV, Air Inuit, Ataro, Productions de Films Dionysos
  • Twitter
  • Facebook

Aness

Aness
Chargement du lecteur...

Description

Au centre nordique du Québec, à la frontière de la toundra et de la taïga, naît Ernest Dominique, d'une famille innue (montagnaise). L'enfant deviendra un peintre reconnu internationalement. Sa grand-mère ne prononçant pas les « r », comme tous les Innus, le nommera Aness. Au virage de sa carrière, ce dernier décide d'adopter ce nom d'artiste et de signer dorénavant Aness sur toutes ses toiles. Des grandes capitales, nous suivons le peintre de retour dans son pays natal. Ce pèlerinage nous emmène dans les sentiers introspectifs qui nous aident à mieux cerner ses peintures, son art, sa famille, sa communauté et la première Nation innue à laquelle il est attaché.

Biofilmographie du réalisateur :

Bacc. Cinéma et communications - Université Laval.
M.A. U. Laval , CEC U. Laval

Denis Boivin est né à Loretteville tout près de Wendake en banlieue de Québec. Après ses études en communication et en cinéma, il signe en 1977 son premier film, L'Âge dort, qui deviendra le documentaire le plus télédiffusé au Québec entre 1979 et 1985. Depuis lors, il a produit et réalisé de nombreux documentaires comme cinéaste indépendant. Parmi eux, le très émouvant Le Pardon (Prix de la Presse Henri-Langlois et Prix du meilleur Grand Reportage, Festival de Tours 1992; Prix Can-Pro 1993; deux nominations aux Gémeaux) et Le Pèlerin (une biographie de Jean-Paul II par les yeux de ses contemporains : Gén. Jaruzelski, Lech Walesa, ses amis et étudiantes). En 2003, dans un trajet de plus de 2 500 km, il tourne son premier long métrage de fiction, Attache ta tuque!, un road movie mettant en scène un jeune Algonquin, et six documentaires sur des projets favorisant la guérison des survivants des pensionnats autochtones: Parole de Guérison. Il produit actuellement sa cinquième série pour enfants en français et en innu et vient de terminer un documentaire sur le peintre innu de réputation internationale Ernest Dominique (Aness).

Prix, mentions et festivals

  • Festival international du Film sur l’Art 2009 (Montréal)
  • Musée Huron-Wendat (Wendake, Québec)

Achat

Choisir le format et l’usage désirés.

Combination of product variants is not available
Loading Mise à jour du panier...

Prix 12.00$

Informations

GenreDocumentaire
Durée52 minutes
Année2008
VersionsVof; vof sta; v. innue
RéalisationDenis Boivin
ComédiensErnest Dominique
NarrationSerge Bouchard
ProductionDenis Boivin, Luc Lainé
ScénarioDenis Boivin
MontageJoël Ferland
D.PHans David Campbell
SonNormand Lapierre, Jean Langevin
MusiqueFlorent Vollant
ProductionK8e K8e inc.
DistributionNetima

Participations financières

Sodec, Fonds canadien de télévision, Fonds canadien du film et de la vidéo indépendants, Programmes de crédits d’impôts (Québec et Canada), APTN, ARTV, Air Inuit, Ataro, Productions de Films Dionysos.
  • Twitter
  • Facebook